Hugues Reip

< Back | Exhibitions

>
L'ÉVASION, 2018 (The Escape)
L'évasion L'évasion
Exhibition card


Les Pistils, 2007
Polystyrene, acrylic coating, motors. Courtesy of the artist.

L'évasion
L'évasion
Windowblow, 2018
Photograph printed on transparent film. Courtesy of the artist.

L'évasion
Q.I. Al dente (to François Curlet), 2005
Luminescent tubes. Courtesy de l'artiste. ©Photography Frédéric Iriarte

L'évasion L'évasion
Black Sheeps (details), 2014
Dust, butterflies, metal screens, Kevlar threads, aluminum tubes, motors.
Courtesy of the artiste and Le Carré, Scène nationale and Centre d'art contemporain du pays de Château-Gontier.

L'évasion
L'évasion
L'évasion
Exhibition view, on the wall, Night Music (Deep) (to Öyvind Fahlström), 2007
Illustrations on magnet sheets, painted metal. Courtesy of the artiste.

L'évasion L'évasion
L'Orque, 2018
Acrylic resin, paint. Courtesy of the artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion L'évasion
0,25, 1990-1991
Various materials. Courtesy of the artiste.

Infraboom Infraboom
L'évasion L'évasion
The Eyeland, 2018
Wood, artificial flowers, earth, various materials. Courtesy of the artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion L'évasion
Dreaming out of windows, 2018 - according to Joseph Cornell’s Dreaming out of windows, dreams, December 18, 1965
Digital prints on paper, acrylic on wood, various objects. Courtesy of the artist.

L'évasion
L'évasion
Sssans titre, 2018
Metal. Courtesy of the artiste.

L'évasion
Noirs desseins (series n°2, 4, 5 et 6), 2012-2016
Ink, colored pencil, watercolor and collage on paper.
Collections Sonia Perrin ; Véronique de Bellefroid ; Sémiose ; Bernard Prévot (Bruxelles) ; André Magnin ; galerie Magnin-A (Paris) ; private collection (Bruxelles).

— L'Évasion (The Escape)

« It might be easier
To fail—with Land in Sight—
Than gain—My Blue Peninsula—
To perish—of Delight— »
Emily Dickinson, It might be lonelier (excerpt), 1863

« Experiencing escape, in its ambivalent relationship with boredom, is what it is necessary to invent in order to escape or abandon oneself to it. » Hugues Reip

Sculptor, draftsman, musician, video filmmaker, photographer, Hugues Reip (born in 1964) freely draws his inspiration from works in the tradition of alternative-world fiction, so-called social science fiction, from the early 20th century, as well as the beginnings of animated cinema and the history of scientific illustration. His art is fueled as much by a certain 1990s underground rock as it is by the infinite variety of land and sea fauna and flora.

Viewers of Reip’s work travel through a landscape in which perception and illusion are two major experiences. In his pieces, each tree, each object seems to conceal a fantastic divinity in some form of surrealist syncretism.

Hugues Reip is a gardener of the supernatural. In his show called L’Évasion (The Escape), which combines past masterpieces and new works, we get to watch the dream of a butterfly, for example, that flits among clouds of dust. Black Sheeps (2014) is a group of five spinning mechanisms. They are sorts of dust planets and make their revolution in Crédac’s large main gallery. Further along we witness the creation of a fantasy island that is planted with a tree from which immortal flowers and other plants dangle. The Eyeland (2018) is a colorful island that is overlooked by a watchful eye, suggesting Odilon Redon, or putting us in mind of the guardian balloon from the mythic TV series The Prisoner (1967), where no escape is possible. Playing as always with artifice, Reip places in his unserious worlds rocks that are sometimes miniscule and sometimes oversized, and creatures from the deep that exist right beside simple matchsticks. And in Windowblow (2018), he superimposes reality on illusion through a trompe-l’oeil image of the city landscape outside the window.

The series Noirs desseins (Dark Designs – 2012-2016) shows the artist’s fondness for the history of scientific illustration and the work of Lucien Rudaux (astronomer, 1874-1947) and Ernst Haeckel (biologist, 1834-1919), along with the film special effects of Ray Harryhausen (1920-2013); while Mushbook (2008) displays his reading of the hallucinatory work of the Beat Generation. Nova Express (1964; first French edition, Christian Bourgois, 1970) is the title of the book that is central to the piece and is incidentally the name of Reip’s first rock band.

He shows off his references, both to Joseph Cornell (1903-1972) through a diorama in which he plays with surrealist techniques, juxtaposing fantastic and dreamlike elements; and to Öyvind Fahlström (1928-1976) for assemblage and collage in a form of poetic invention. Considered his first work of art, 0,25 (1990-1991) is made up of tiny sculptures that could almost be spontaneous drawings. His entire vocabulary is already in place, the vocabulary over which floats the esthetic of the artist H. C. Westermann (1922-1981), which combines Surrealism, the spirit of Dada and Folk Art. Seen through the prism of the macro- and the microscopic, his worlds harbor the patient reality of work, the compulsive collections of small found or jury-rigged objects, and the mysteries of the art studio.

Claire Le Restif

Hugues Reip

< Retour | Expositions

>
L'ÉVASION, 2018
L'évasion L'évasion
Carton de l'exposition

Les Pistils, 2007
Polystyrène, enduit acrylique, moteurs. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion
Windowblow, 2018
Photographie imprimée sur film transparent. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
Q.I. Al dente (à François Curlet), 2005
Tubes luminescents. Courtesy de l'artiste. ©Photographie Frédéric Iriarte

L'évasion L'évasion
Black Sheeps (détails), 2014
Poussière, papillons, grilles métalliques, fils de kevlar, tubes en aluminium, moteurs.
Courtesy de l'artiste et Le Carré, Scène nationale et Centre d'art contemporain du pays de Château-Gontier.

L'évasion
L'évasion
L'évasion
Au mur, Night Music (Deep) (à Öyvind Fahlström), 2007
Illustrations sur feuilles d'aimant, tôle peinte. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion L'évasion
L'Orque, 2018
Résine acrylique, peinture. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion L'évasion
0,25, 1990-1991
Matériaux divers. Courtesy de l'artiste.

Infraboom Infraboom
L'évasion L'évasion
The Eyeland, 2018
Bois, fleurs artificielles, terre, matériaux divers. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion L'évasion
Dreaming out of windows 2018 - d’après Joseph Cornell’s Dreaming out of windows, dreams, 18 décembre 1965
Impressions numériques sur papier, acrylique sur bois, objets divers. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
L'évasion
Sssans titre, 2018
Métal. Courtesy de l'artiste.

L'évasion
Noirs desseins (séries n°2, 4, 5 et 6), 2012-2016
Encre, crayon de couleur, aquarelle et collage sur papier.
Collections Sonia Perrin ; Véronique de Bellefroid ; Sémiose ; Bernard Prévot (Bruxelles) ; André Magnin ; galerie Magnin-A (Paris) ; collection privée (Bruxelles).

— L'Évasion

« Il serait peut-être plus facile d’échouer en vue de la terre que de gagner ma péninsule bleue pour y périr de joie » Emily Dickinson, It might be lonelier (extrait), 1863

« Éprouver l’évasion, dans sa relation ambivalente avec l’ennui, est ce qu’il est nécessaire d’inventer pour y échapper ou s’y abandonner. » Hugues Reip

Sculpteur, dessinateur, musicien, vidéaste, photographe, Hugues Reip (né en 1964) s’inspire librement des œuvres d’anticipation du début du XXe siècle, des prémices du cinéma d’animation comme de l’histoire de l’illustration scientifique. Il s’est autant nourri d’un certain rock underground des années 1990 que de l’infinie variété de la faune et flore terrestre et sous-marine.

Le spectateur du travail de Hugues Reip voyage dans un paysage où la perception et l’illusion sont deux grandes expériences. Chez lui, chaque rocher, chaque arbre, chaque objet semble dissimuler une divinité fantastique, dans une forme de syncrétisme surréaliste.

Hugues Reip est jardinier du surnaturel. Dans son exposition intitulée l’Évasion, qui combine œuvres-clefs et nouvelles productions, nous assistons au rêve du papillon qui butine des nuages de poussière. En effet Black Sheeps (2014) est un ensemble de cinq mécanismes tournoyants. Sortes de planètes de poussière, elles font leur révolution dans la grande salle du Crédac. Plus loin nous assistons à la création d’un îlot fantaisiste où est planté un arbre sur lequel pendillent fleurs et plantes immortelles. The Eyeland (2018) est une île colorée surplombée d’un œil qui surveille, évoquant Odilon Redon ou nous rappelant le ballon gardien de la série mythique Le Prisonnier (1967) dans laquelle aucune évasion n’est possible. Jouant comme toujours d’artifice, Hugues Reip place dans ses mondes sans gravité, des cailloux tantôt minuscules tantôt surdimensionnés, des créatures abyssales qui croisent des allumettes, et superpose la réalité à l’illusion à travers une image en trompe-l’œil du paysage extérieur dans Windowblow (2018).

À travers la série Noirs desseins (2012-2016), on reconnaît le goût de l’artiste pour l’histoire de l’illustration scientifique de Lucien Rudaux (astronome, 1874-1947), Ernest Haeckel (biologiste, 1834-1919) ou bien encore du trucage cinématographique de Ray Harryhausen (1920-2013) et, à travers Mushbook (2008), sa lecture de l'œuvre hallucinée de la Beat Generation. Nova Express (1964 ; première édition française, Christian Bourgois : 1970) est le titre du livre qui compose la pièce mais est également le nom du premier groupe de rock de Hugues Reip.

Il affiche ses références, à la fois à Joseph Cornell (1903-1972) à travers un diorama où il joue de techniques surréalistes, de juxtaposition d’éléments fantastiques et oniriques et à Öyvind Fahlström (1928-1976) pour l’assemblage et le collage dans une forme de création poétique. Considérée comme sa première œuvre 0,25 (1990-1991) se compose de de petites sculptures comme pourraient l'être des dessins spontanés. Tout son vocabulaire est déjà là, celui sur lequel plane l’esthétique de l’artiste H. C. Westermann (1922-1981) où viennent s’agréger le Surréalisme, l’esprit Dada et le Folk Art. Passés par le prisme du macro-microscopique, il se niche dans ses univers la réalité patiente du travail, les collections compulsives de petits objets trouvés ou bricolés, les mystères de l’atelier.

Claire Le Restif